Families

At Calvary, we desire to support and strengthen families as we worship and grow together, developing marriages and homes that honor God.

We provide opportunities for couples and families to be encouraged and equipped by:

  • Teaching biblical truths to families and children (Ephesians 5:22–6:4)
  • Shepherding families to walk in a manner worthy of the calling (Ephesians 4:1)
  • Equipping families for the work of ministry (Ephesians 4:12)
  • Praying for husbands and wives to fulfill their biblical roles and responsibilities and to spiritually lead and nurture their children (Ephesians 6:18)

Interested in opportunities and activities focused on marriage, home, and family? Read more about our supporting ministries below and check out our Featured Events.

Contacts: Pastor Jim Pile, 704.341.5359, jpile@calvarychurch.com 
Jennifer Sharpless, 704.341.5417, jsharpless@calvarychurch.com

  • +

    New Horizons For Children
    Support our summer host families

    New Horizons For Children
    Summer Host Program, June – August


    This summer, five Calvary families have a unique opportunity to host orphaned teens from Latvia for six weeks, beginning in June. Calvary HOME Ministry is partnering with New Horizons For Children to offer these young people first-hand experiences with positive family relationships, spiritual nurturing, healthy hygiene, American culture, and immersion in the English language.
     
    This is an exciting opportunity for these teenagers to hear the Gospel — they have a Heavenly Father who loves them dearly and is waiting to adopt them into His eternal family!

    How you can help:
    • Pray for the host families
    • Provide gift cards of $10 or $25 for restaurants, clothing, & activities
    • Donate dental or optometry services for the teens
    • Offer Latvian translation skills 
    Stop by Galleria table 3 on Sundays for more details or to drop off gift cards. 

    Contact: Debbie Davis, ddavis716@yahoo.com or Jennifer Sharpless, 704.341.5417, jsharpless@calvarychurch.com

     

  • +

    HOME Ministry
    Adoption, Fostering & Orphan Care

     
    Calvary’s HOME Ministry seeks to obey God’s Word by ministering to fatherless, orphaned, and vulnerable children (James 1:27).
     
    Our ministry focus areas are:
    • Awareness and training
    • Support of adoptive and fostering families
    • Direct support for children in need
    • Prayer

    If you would like to help or are considering adopting or fostering a child, please contact our HOME coordinators.
     
    Home Ministry: Hugh Grey, 704.619.8116, hgrey@bellsouth.net or Mike Malone, 574.607.1619, mmal1.ipad@gmail.com
    For Adoption/Orphan Care: Kody Krady, 704.941.4974, kodykrady@gmail.com
    For Foster Care: Jenna Mascia, 704.517.6606, jmascia@live.com
     

     

  • +

    Stewardship Ministry
    Seminars & Individual/Family Financial Counsel

    "The earth is the Lord's and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it." — Psalm 24:1

    Calvary's Stewardship Ministry is focused on helping individuals and families approach day-to-day finance and milestone life events with a smart and biblical foundation through free classes and seminars and confidential individual/family counseling. Stay tuned for details on our next seasonal Estate Design seminar in the fall!

    Please call for general questions or to schedule a free personal and confidential appointment! 

    Contact: John Mandeville, 704.341.5331, jmandeville@calvarychurch.com

  • +

    Parenting Milestones
    New sessions return in September

    Parenting Milestones

    Select Sundays
    11:15 AM–12:15 PM, Room 200

    Behold, children are a gift of the Lord” (Psalm 127:3). And seemingly “in the blink of an eye,” they reach adulthood.
     
    Parenting Milestones is Calvary’s new series of Bible-based sessions designed specifically for your family as you encounter key transitions in your children’s lives. Allow us to come alongside you as you prepare for these important times. Calvary pastors and ministry leaders will address what to expect as your son or daughter reaches key milestones in life. And they'll discuss ways to guide them through those transitional phases, often providing helpful resources.
     
    Stay tuned for sessions to resume in the fall!
     
    Sept 10  |  Preparing Your 3rd Grader for Next Steps
    Nov 5  |  Transitioning With 2 & 3-Year-Olds
     
    Contact: Debbie Bordwine, 704.341.5328, dbordwine@calvarychurch.com